Newsroom staff

How to reach us
  • News Tips
  • The Editors
  • Business & Tech
  • Entertainment
  • Graphics & Design
  • Investigations
  • Life
  • Local News
  • News Columnists
  • News Copy Desk
  • Opinion
  • Pacific NW Magazine
  • Photo & Video
  • seattletimes.com
  • Sports

News Tips

General news tips: Fill out the form under “Contact the newsroom.”

Confidential news tips: See your options for contacting us with additional security to protect your identity.

Reach a specific journalist: Browse the tabs on the left side of this page to find the person you need.

The Editors

Michele Matassa Flores, executive editor
206.464.2292. mflores@seattletimes.com. Twitter: @michmflo

Ray Rivera, managing editor
206.652.6521. rrivera@seattletimes.com. Twitter: @raystypos

Lynn Jacobson, deputy managing editor
206.464.2714. ljacobson@seattletimes.com. Twitter: @lynnjacobson

Danny Gawlowski, assistant managing editor
206.464.2450. dgawlowski@seattletimes.com. Twitter: @gawlowski

Frank Mina, assistant managing editor
206.464.2573. fmina@seattletimes.com. Twitter: @FMina


Paul Barrett, sports editor
206.464.2093. pbarrett@seattletimes.com. Twitter: @paulbarrett6

John de Leon, metro editor
206.464.2073. jdeleon@seattletimes.com. Twitter: @DeLeon_Times

Nick Eaton, digital audience editor
206.464.2125. neaton@seattletimes.com. Twitter: @njeaton

Rami Grunbaum, business editor
206.464.8541. rgrunbaum@seattletimes.com. Twitter: @rgrunbaum

Stefanie Loh, features editor
206.464.8994. sloh@seattletimes.com. Twitter: @StefanieLoh

Business & Tech

TECHNOLOGY | MICROSOFT | AMAZON | STARBUCKS | REAL ESTATE

Rami Grunbaum, business editor
206.464.8541. rgrunbaum@seattletimes.com. Twitter: @rgrunbaum

Judy Averill, business producer
206.464.8252. javerill@seattletimes.com.


Dominic Gates, Boeing & aerospace reporter
206.464.2963. dgates@seattletimes.com. Twitter: @dominicgates

Melissa Hellmann, artificial intelligence reporter
206.464.2168. Mhellmann@seattletimes.com. Twitter: @M_Hellmann

Paul Roberts, business reporter
206.464.2951. proberts@seattletimes.com Twitter: @Pauledroberts

Benjamin Romano, business reporter
206.652.6593. bromano@seattletimes.com. Twitter: @bromano

Jon Talton, economy columnist
jtalton@seattletimes.com. Twitter: @JonTalton

Entertainment

BOOKS  |  MOVIES  |  MUSIC  |  THEATER

Stefanie Loh, features editor
206.464.8994. sloh@seattletimes.com. Twitter: @StefanieLoh

Janet Tu, assistant features editor
206.464.2272. jtu@seattletimes.com. Twitter: @janettu

Amy Wong, features producer
206.464.3190. awong@seattletimes.com. Twitter: @amyewong


Brendan Kiley, arts & culture writer
206.464.2507. bkiley@seattletimes.com. Twitter: @brendankiley

Moira Macdonald, arts critic
206.464.2725. mmacdonald@seattletimes.com. Twitter: @moiraverse

Madeline Mckenzie, news assistant
206.464.8245. mmckenzie@seattletimes.com.

Michael Rietmulder, music writer
206.652.6590. mrietmulder@seattletimes.com. Twitter: @mrietmulder

Yasmeen Wafai, news assistant
206.464.2757. ywafai@seattletimes.com. Twitter: @yasmeen_wafai

Graphics & Design

Frank Mina, assistant managing editor
206.464.2573. fmina@seattletimes.com. Twitter: @FMina


Wayne Begasse, page designer
206.464.2923. wbegasse@seattletimes.com.

Gabriel Campanario,Seattle Sketcher columnist
206.464.8795. gcampanario@seattletimes.com. Twitter: @SeattleSketcher

Emily Eng, graphic artist
206.515.5636. eeng@seattletimes.com. Twitter: @Emily_M_Eng

Rick Lund, page designer
206.464.5612. rlund@seattletimes.com.

Jennifer Luxton, page designer
206.652.6574. jluxton@seattletimes.com. Twitter: @JenniferLuxton.

David Miller, page designer
206.464.8249. dmiller@seattletimes.com.

Mark Nowlin, lead graphic artist
206.464.2208. mnowlin@seattletimes.com.

Rita Wong, page designer
206.464.2940. rwong@seattletimes.com.

Investigations

Ray Rivera, managing editor
206.652.6521. rrivera@seattletimes.com. Twitter: @raystypos


Mike Baker, reporter
206.464.2729. mbaker@seattletimes.com. Twitter: @ByMikeBaker

Daniel Gilbert, reporter
206.464.2288. dgilbert@seattletimes.com. Twitter: @ByDanielGilbert

Miyoko Wolf, news researcher
206.464.8987. miwolf@seattletimes.com.

 

Click here to send us a confidential news tip.

Life

FOOD & DRINK  |  TRAVEL  |  OUTDOORS  |  HOME & DECOR

Stefanie Loh, features editor
206.464.8994. sloh@seattletimes.com. Twitter: @StefanieLoh

Janet Tu, assistant features editor
206.464.2272. jtu@seattletimes.com. Twitter: @janettu

Amy Wong, features producer
206.464.3190. awong@seattletimes.com. Twitter: @amyewong


Megan Burbank, desk editor
206.464.3193. mburbank@seattletimes.com. Twitter: @meganireneb

Bethany Jean Clement, food writer
206.464.2050. bclement@seattletimes.com. Twitter: @BJeanClement

Brendan Kiley, arts & culture writer
206.464.2507. bkiley@seattletimes.com. Twitter: @brendankiley

Crystal Paul, travel & outdoors writer
206.464.2113. cpaul@seattletimes.com. Twitter: @CPLHouse. Instagram: @cplhouse

Tan Vinh, reporter
206.515.5656. tvinh@seattletimes.com. Twitter: @tanvinhseattle

Yasmeen Wafai, news assistant
206.464.2757. ywafai@seattletimes.com. Twitter: @yasmeen_wafai

Local News

LOCAL NEWS HOME | TRANSPORTATION | EDUCATION | EASTSIDE

Metro Desk, 206.464.2204.

John de Leon, metro editor
206.464.2073. jdeleon@seattletimes.com. Twitter: @DeLeon_Times

Beth Kaiman, deputy metro editor
206.464.2441. bkaiman@seattletimes.com.

Gina Cole, assistant metro editor
206.464.2206. gcole@seattletimes.com. Twitter: @Gina_Cole_

Jonathan Martin, assistant metro editor, Project Homeless
206.464.2605. jmartin@seattletimes.com. Twitter: @jmartin206

Joy Resmovits, assistant metro editor, Education Lab
206.464.3294. jresmovits@seattletimes.com. Twitter: @Joy_Resmovits

Richard Wagoner, politics and Traffic Lab editor
206.464.2927. rwagoner@seattletimes.com. Twitter: @richardwagoner

Benjamin Woodard, assistant metro editor
206.464.2236. bwoodard@seattletimes.com. Twitter: @benjamdub

Jeff Albertson, metro producer
206.464.2304. jalbertson@seattletimes.com. Twitter: @Jeff_Albertson


Gene Balk, FYI Guy columnist
206.515.5052. gbalk@seattletimes.com. Twitter: @genebalk

Michelle Baruchman, Traffic Lab engagement editor
206.652.6588. mbaruchman@seattletimes.com. Twitter: @mlbaruchman

Dahlia Bazzaz, education reporter
206.464.8522. dbazzaz@seattletimes.com. Twitter: @dahliabazzaz

Daniel Beekman, Seattle City Hall reporter
206.464.2164. dbeekman@seattletimes.com. Twitter: @DBeekman

Hal Bernton, reporter
206.464.2581. hbernton@seattletimes.com. Twitter: @hbernton

Ryan Blethen, reporter
rblethen@seattletimes.com. Twitter: @RyanBlethen

Nicole Brodeur, reporter
206.464.2334. nbrodeur@seattletimes.com. Twitter: @nicolebrodeur

Jim Brunner, political reporter
206.515.5628. jbrunner@seattletimes.com. Twitter: @Jim_Brunner

Evan Bush, reporter
206.464.2253. ebush@seattletimes.com. Twitter: @evanbush

Mike Carter, crime reporter
206.464.3706. mcarter@seattletimes.com. Twitter: @stimesmcarter

Christine Clarridge, reporter
206.464.8983. cclarridge@seattletimes.com. Twitter: @seaclarridge

Paige Cornwell, reporter
206.464.2530. pcornwell@seattletimes.com. Twitter: @pgcornwell

Vianna Davila, Project Homeless reporter
206.652.6550. vdavila@seattletimes.com. Twitter: @viannadavila

Asia Fields, news resident
206.464.2521. afields@seattletimes.com. Twitter: @asiakmfields

Marcus Harrison Green, reporter
206.464.3291. mgreen@seattletimes.com. Twitter: @mhgreen3000

Sara Jean Green, crime reporter
206.515.5654. sgreen@seattletimes.com. Twitter: @SJGTimes

Scott Greenstone, Project Homeless engagement editor
206-464-8545. sgreenstone@seattletimes.com. Twitter: @evergreenstone

Heidi Groover, reporter
206.464.8273. hgroover@seattletimes.com. Twitter: @heidigroover

David Gutman, Traffic Lab reporter
206.464.2926. dgutman@seattletimes.com. Twitter: @davidlgutman

Lewis Kamb, reporter
206.464.2932. lkamb@seattletimes.com. Twitter: @lewiskamb

Mohammed Kloub, Education Lab engagement editor
206.652.6595. mkloub@seattletimes.com. Twitter: @LessIsMoh

Erik Lacitis, reporter
206.464.2237. elacitis@seattletimes.com. Twitter: @ErikLacitis

Mike Lindblom, Traffic Lab reporter
206.515.5631. mlindblom@seattletimes.com. Twitter: @MikeLindblom

Katherine Long, education reporter
206.464.2219. klong@seattletimes.com. Twitter: @katherinelong

Lynda V. Mapes, environment reporter
206.464.2515. lmapes@seattletimes.com. Twitter: @LyndaVMapes

Steve Miletich, crime reporter
206.464.3302. smiletich@seattletimes.com. Twitter: @stevemiletich

Neal Morton, education reporter
206.464.3145. nmorton@seattletimes.com. Twitter: @nealtmorton

Joseph O’Sullivan, state government reporter
360.236.8268. josullivan@seattletimes.com. Twitter: @OlympiaJoe

Nina Shapiro, reporter
206.464.3303. nshapiro@seattletimes.com. Twitter: @NinaShapiro

Danny Westneat, columnist
206.464.2086. dwestneat@seattletimes.com.

Miyoko Wolf, news researcher
206.464.8987. miwolf@seattletimes.com.

News Columnists

BUSINESS & TECH

Jon Talton comments on economic news, issues and trends, with an emphasis on Seattle and the Northwest. jtalton@seattletimes.com. Twitter: @JonTalton


LIFE

Seattle Sketcher Gabriel Campanario illustrates life in the Puget Sound region. He has been living and drawing in Seattle since 2006. 206-464-8795. gcampanario@seattletimes.com. Twitter: @SeattleSketcher


LOCAL NEWS

FYI Guy Gene Balk crunches the numbers. Gene first came to The Seattle Times as a news librarian in 2002 and has transitioned into the go-to data columnist in the region. 206.515.5052. gbalk@seattletimes.com. Twitter: @GeneBalk

Danny Westneat takes an opinionated look at the Puget Sound region's news, people and politics. 206.464.2086. dwestneat@seattletimes.com.


SPORTS

Geoff Baker is a sports enterprise and investigative reporter for The Seattle Times who writes a column on sports business. 206.464.8286. gbaker@seattletimes.com. Twitter: @GeoffBakerTimes

Matt Calkins joined The Seattle Times in August 2015 as a sports columnist after three years at the San Diego Union Tribune. Never afraid to take a stand or go off the beaten path, Matt enjoys writing about the human condition every bit as much as walk-offs or buzzer-beaters. His mom reads the comments, so take it easy on him. 206.464.3185. mcalkins@seattletimes.com. Twitter: @matt_calkins

Bob Condotta covers the Seahawks for the Seattle Times. He provides daily coverage of the team throughout the year. 206.515.5699. bcondotta@seattletimes.com. Twitter: @bcondotta

Dwight Perry uses Sideline Chatter as a not-so-safe haven for the humorous, offbeat and bizarre events and characters that color the sports landscape. 206.464.8250. dperry@seattletimes.com

Larry Stone gives his opinion and analysis on the world of sports. 206.464.3146. lstone@seattletimes.com. Twitter: @StoneLarry

News Copy Desk

Karen Cater, copy desk chief
206.464.8975. kcater@seattletimes.com.

Melissa Davis, news editor, A1 and Evening Brief
206.464.2506.  mdavis@seattletimes.com. Twitter: @Melissa_Dav

Kris Higginson, news editor and Morning Brief editor
206.464.3246. khigginson@seattletimes.com.

Laura Gordon,news coordinator
206.464.2955. lgordon@seattletimes.com. Twitter: @LaGoSea


Agnes Al-Shibibi, opinion desk editor
206.464.2763. aalshibibi@seattletimes.com

Raquel Comerford, news desk editor
206.464.2152. rcomerford@seattletimes.com.

Rob Davila, news desk editor
206.464.2730. rdavila@seattletimes.com. Twitter: @jrobdavila

Julie Hanson, news desk editor
206.464.8557. jhanson@seattletimes.com.

Ann Hart, news desk editor
206.464.3104. ahart@seattletimes.com.

Angela Lo, news desk editor
206.464.6543. alo@seattletimes.com.

Jane MacDonald, news desk editor
206-464-8256. jmacdonald@seattletimes.com.

Carole McClosky, news desk editor
206.464.8258. cmcclosky@seattletimes.com.

Neena Pellegrini, news desk editor
206.464.3114. npellegrini@seattletimes.com.

Larissa Pfeifer, news desk editor
206.464.8214. lpfeifer@seattletimes.com.

Craig Reese, news desk editor
206.464.3123. creese@seattletimes.com.

Elouise Schumacher, news desk editor
206.464.8973. eschumacher@seattletimes.com.

Lori Taki-Uno, news desk editor
206.464.3342. luno@seattletimes.com.

Opinion

EDITORIALS | LETTERS

Editorial board members:

Kate Riley is the editorial page editor, who works with The Times editorial board to develop the opinion page's positions on issues. She joined The Times' editorial page in 2002 as a writer and columnist. A graduate of Redmond High School and the University of Washington, she returned to the Seattle area after spending 17 years working at Eastern Washington newspapers where she was a reporter, editorial writer and editorial page editor. She started her career as a farm writer for the Times-owned Walla Walla Union-Bulletin (Think Walla Walla Sweet Onions and the wine industry.) 206-464-2260. kriley@seattletimes.com. Twitter: @k8riley

Mark Higgins is the deputy opinion editor. As a member of The Times editorial board, Mark helps lead the daily conversation in selecting and shaping our editorial stance while overseeing digital and print production as well as social media. He also wrangles our guest opinion writers, seeking out influential thinkers who want to share their ideas on local, national and international news, Northwest culture and much more. Before joining the board, Mark was the senior digital editor at seattletimes.com. And, before his deep-dive into digital publishing, Mark was metro editor at The Times. Under his leadership, the newsroom won the 2010 Pulitzer Prize for breaking news for its coverage online and in print of the murder of four police officers. A graduate of Western Washington University, Mark has worked at six other newspapers, including the Orange County (Calif.) Register and Seattle P-I. 206-464-2094. mhiggins@seattletimes.com. Twitter: @MarkHiggins

Brier Dudley joined the editorial board after 14 years covering Microsoft and the technology industry, including nine years writing a technology column on the business page. A third-generation Seattleite, he received a bachelor’s degree in English from Whitman College and studied film production in Italy before starting a career in newspapers. He has won numerous journalism awards and several oyster-eating competitions. 206-515-5687. bdudley@seattletimes.com. Twitter: @BrierDudley

Pacific NW Magazine

MAGAZINE HOMEPAGE

Bill Reader, magazine editor
206.464.2416. breader@seattletimes.com.

Sandy Deneau Dunham, magazine associate editor
206.464.2252. sdunham@seattletimes.com.


Sandi Doughton, reporter
206.464.2491. sdoughton@seattletimes.com. Twitter: @SandiDoughton

Ron Judd, reporter
206.464.8280. rjudd@seattletimes.com. Twitter: @roncjudd

David Miller, page designer
206.464.8249. dmiller@seattletimes.com.

Photo & Video

PHOTO HOMEPAGE | VIDEO HOMEPAGE

Danny Gawlowski, assistant managing editor
206.464.2450. dgawlowski@seattletimes.com. Twitter: @gawlowski

Angie Gottschalk, photo editor
206.464.2928. agottschalk@seattletimes.com.

Fred Nelson, photo editor
206.464.2754. fnelson@seattletimes.com.


Ellen Banner, photographer
206.515.5084. ebanner@seattletimes.com.

Alan Berner, photographer
206.464.8133. aberner@seattletimes.com.

Cara Brannan, associate photo editor
206.464.2203. cbrannan@seattletimes.com.

Corinne Chin, video editor
206.464.2387. cchin@seattletimes.com. Twitter: @CorinneChin

Colin Diltz, digital production assistant
206.464.2047. cdiltz@seattletimes.com.

Ramon Dompor, video editor
206.652.6555. rdompor@seattletimes.com. Twitter: @ramondompor

Lauren Frohne, video editor
206.464.2049. lfrohne@seattletimes.com. Twitter: @laurenfrohne

Greg Gilbert, photographer
206.464.8135. ggilbert@seattletimes.com.

Bettina Hansen, photographer
206.464.2175. bhansen@seattletimes.com. Twitter: @bettinahansen

Ken Lambert, photographer
206.515.5581. klambert@seattletimes.com. Twitter: @SeaTimesFotoKen

Travis Ness, digital production assistant
206.464.2127. tness@seattletimes.com.

Courtney Blethen Riffkin, digital production assistant
206.464.1941. criffkin@seattletimes.com. Twitter: @courtneyblethen

Steve Ringman, photographer
206.464.8143. sringman@seattletimes.com. Twitter: @sringman

Dean Rutz, photographer
206.464.8303. drutz@seattletimes.com. Twitter: @deanrutz

Erika Schultz, photographer
206.464.8145. eschultz@seattletimes.com. Twitter: @ErikaJSchultz

Mike Siegel, photographer
206.464.8144. msiegel@seattletimes.com. Twitter: @MikeSiegel7

Amanda Snyder, digital production assistant
206.652.6527. asnyder@seattletimes.com.

seattletimes.com

LOCAL NEWS | BUSINESS  | SPORTS | ENTERTAINMENT | LIFE

Danny Gawlowski, assistant managing editor
206.464.2450. dgawlowski@seattletimes.com. Twitter: @gawlowski

Nick Eaton, digital audience editor
206.464.2125. neaton@seattletimes.com. Twitter: @njeaton

Matt Ironside, newsroom operations analyst
206.464.2398. mironside@seattletimes.com. Twitter: @mjironside


Newsroom Producers, 206.464.2558.

Jeff Albertson, metro producer
206.464.2304. jalbertson@seattletimes.com. Twitter: @Jeff_Albertson

Agnes Al-Shibibi, opinion desk editor
206.464.2763. aalshibibi@seattletimes.com.

Judy Averill, business producer
206.464.8252. javerill@seattletimes.com.

Taylor Blatchford, news producer
206.464.2280. tblatchford@seattletimes.com. Twitter: @blatchfordtr

Nick Saffan, news producer
206.464.2166. nsaffan@seattletimes.com. Twitter: @NickSaffan

Laura Schinagle, news producer
206.464.3293. lschinagle@seattletimes.com. Twitter: @schibagel

Evan Webeck, sports producer
ewebeck@seattletimes.com. Twitter: @EvanWebeck

Amy Wong, features producer
206.464.3190. awong@seattletimes.com. Twitter: @amyewong

Sports

SEAHAWKS | MARINERS | HUSKIES | HIGH SCHOOLS

Paul Barrett, sports editor
206.464.2093. pbarrett@seattletimes.com. Twitter: @paulbarrett6

Alex Iniguez, assistant sports editor
206.464.8255. ainiguez@seattletimes.com. Twitter: @alexiniguez

Sean Quinton, assistant sports editor
206.652.6188. squinton@seattletimes.com. Twitter: @Quinton_Sean

Evan Webeck, sports producer
ewebeck@seattletimes.com. Twitter: @EvanWebeck


Percy Allen, basketball reporter
206.464.2278. pallen@seattletimes.com. Twitter: @percyallen

Geoff Baker, enterprise and hockey reporter
206.464.8286. gbaker@seattletimes.com. Twitter: @GeoffBakerTIMES

Rich Boudet, sports page designer and graphic artist
206.464.2365. rboudet@seattletimes.com.

Matt Calkins, sports columnist
206.464.3185. mcalkins@seattletimes.com. Twitter: @Matt_Calkins

Bob Condotta, pro football reporter
206.515.5699. bcondotta@seattletimes.com. Twitter: @bcondotta

Ryan Divish, baseball reporter
206.464.2373. rdivish@seattletimes.com. Twitter: @RyanDivish

Steve Dominguez, sports desk editor
206.464.2124. sdominguez@seattletimes.com.

Jayda Evans, soccer reporter
206.464.2067. jevans@seattletimes.com. Twitter: @JaydaEvans

Tony Guadagnoli, sports desk editor
206.464.8341. tguadagnoli@seattletimes.com.

Scott Hanson, sports reporter/desk editor
206.464.2943. shanson@seattletimes.com. Twitter: @scotthansongolf

Nathan Joyce, high school sports coordinator
206.464.2176. njoyce@seattletimes.com. Twitter: @NathanAJoyce

Adam Jude, enterprise and pro football reporter
206.464.2364. ajude@seattletimes.com. Twitter: @A_Jude

Jeff King, sports page designer
206.464.8327. jking@seattletimes.com.

Mart Koivastik, sports desk editor
206.464.8244. mkoivastik@seattletimes.com.

Brett Miller, sports news assistant
206.464.2276. bmiller@seattletimes.com.

Dwight Perry, sports desk editor
206.464.8250. dperry@seattletimes.com.

Larry Stone, sports columnist
206.464.3146. lstone@seattletimes.com. Twitter: @StoneLarry

Mike Vorel, UW football reporter
206.464.3292. mvorel@seattletimes.com. Twitter: @MikeVorel